My most important medication…

The main thing that got me through HG was the support I had. Yeah I still got the odd “it’s just morning sickness” remark and the odd one or two people who were completely unsympathetic to my condition (I better not mention names!), but on the whole people were very supportive and I was very lucky. I heard from people I’d not spoken to in a long time, received flowers from people I only really knew in the passing and always had nice texts, Facebook messages etc. There are a few people inparticular who got me through the toughest days of my life:

My Husband – My husband is amazing. He spent countless days and nights sitting with me, listening to me crying, helping me in and out of the bath and up and down the stairs, dressing me and generally comforting me. I’ve lost count of the amount of times he spent all night with me at the hospital, then went straight to training or to a game. Fans criticise his commitment, trust me, you’d never get a more committed person to his football. I love this man with all my heart. He was and always will be my hero. I’d stop breathing without him.

Fletcher the dog – Yes that’s right, my dog!! My husband worked most days so I was alone in the house a lot of the time. If I was on the couch, Fletcher was beside me. If I was in bed, Fletcher was in bed with me and if I was lying on the bathroom floor Fletcher was lying on the bathmat at my feet! If i cried he licked away my tears. He was my loyal HG companion ❤. He is my loyal companion.

Mum & Dad – My mum and dad were a tremendous support. They would come up to the house and sometimes sit downstairs all day, even though I was in bed, just incase I needed anything. They took me to and sat with me in A&E many times when my husband was working. When my husband was away with work I stayed with them and they looked after me.

My Sister – My sister phoned me everyday, even though most days I was too ill to answer. She knew this and knew it was more than likely I wouldn’t pick up, but called everyday nonetheless. I remember her visiting from London one weekend. She sat in bed with me, in silence, all day on a Friday. I was admitted to hospital that evening. She sat with me all day in the hospital, near enough in silence again, on the Saturday. She was so understanding that she would have completely understood if I’d been unable to make her wedding. I did make her wedding…..there was no chance I was missing that. Sod you HG!! Unfortunately for my sis I did ruin some of her wedding photos! Elle’s middle name is Dawn, after her favourite Auntie ❤.

Kythie – My beautiful friend Kythie. Someone I can say absolutely anything to and am never ever judged. She listened to my daily moans of feeling ill. Yep, I complained daily to a girl who has MS. She will live with that forever and there is no cure. She never compared my situation to hers and always had so many words of encouragement for me. She is an incredible person. She is an amazing friend. I love her.

Tania – Yes, I also moaned to the cervical cancer survivor who at this point didn’t know if her and her husband could have a family. She was always full of sympathy and asked near enough everyday if there was anything she could bring me. Tania and her husband are now expecting their 1st child and I can’t wait to meet baby Dash! You can follow Tania’s blog at http://taniadash.wordpress.com/. The definition of a true survivor.

Heather – There aren’t enough words for me to describe this lady. When i was pregnant I called Heather my HG guardian angel. Heather IS an angel. I will forever be in her debt. I contacted Heather via the Pregnancy Sickness Support UK Charity (PSS) website looking for some help. Heather is a volunteer with the charity and was assigned to me. I’m so glad she was! Heather went through HG with her son so knew exactly how I was feeling but spurred me on to the finish line! Despite having a full time job and a toddler, Heather gives up so much of her own time to help women suffering with HG. If Esther Ransen still did the programme Hearts of Gold then Heather would be nominated time and time again!! I’m hoping to get involved with the PSS Charity in the near future – http://www.pregnancysicknesssupport.org.uk/.

Mikaela – If there was a job title called “Goodie Bag Maker For People in Hospital” then Mikaela would be the best in the business! She should be a professional hospital visitor. Her goodie bags are amazing: sweeties (but not just any sweeties, sweeties you’ve not had in AGES), magazines, mini toiletries. Ok I confess, I had myself admitted all those times just so Mikaela would bring me some treats!

The #HGCrew/ladies from the closed HG groups on Facebook – Without these girls I thought I’d never laugh again! They are the only bunch of girls who can have the most tragic yet hilarious stories at the same time!

Mhairi, Heather, Laura, Moira and Stevobob – Work colleagues (new and old) who kept in touch all the time to see how I was doing. I was very very fortunate to have such a good support network around me.

My favourite restaurant is Rocpool in Inverness. If you’ve never been to Rocpool you HAVE to go. The food is amazing and the service is fantastic. Stephanie (😜) is the most wonderful host. I managed a couple of times in the later stages of my pregnancy but I had it written on the calendar that when I was HG free we would all go as a family to Rocpool for my 30th birthday. We went, baby slept to let us enjoy our meal and I ate 3 delicious courses…HG FREE!

20130215-105643.jpg

20130215-105739.jpg

20130215-105840.jpg

20130215-105917.jpg

20130215-105937.jpg

20130215-110058.jpg

20130215-110400.jpg

20130215-110617.jpg

20130215-110711.jpg

20130215-110808.jpg

One thought on “My most important medication…

  1. Of all of your fascinating and emotive posts, this one moved me the most and I felt I had to revisit it to let you know.

    “My Husband – My husband is amazing. He spent countless days and nights sitting with me, listening to me crying, helping me in and out of the bath and up and down the stairs, dressing me and generally comforting me. I’ve lost count of the amount of times he spent all night with me at the hospital, then went straight to training or to a game. Fans criticise his commitment, trust me, you’d never get a more committed person to his football. I love this man with all my heart. He was and always will be my hero. I’d stop breathing without him.”

    – I welled up when I read through this.

    Not just because, as a football fan I can now realise how dedicated your husband is as a person (as well as being a leader of men in his job), but also because I can relate to what you have endured as a couple (not with HG but another life-changing condition) To stay up all night, to drag yourself away from A&E and the ward and to have to go straight to work is tough, a real challenge, but something that we do without any hesitation, to do anything to make our loved one’s life better. It’s easy to admit that it has been difficult year for us, but I can only partly appreciate how tough it has been for you.

    The difference between you and I is that while I can take what comfort privacy allows me, you and your husband have had to endure part of your torment in public, where everyone has an opinion on something they will know little about. As a result, your husband has earned a lot of respect by most, but particularly from me.

    Thank you for sharing the blog with us. I am delighted that your circumstances are better than they were. Both of you are a source of inspiration.

Leave a Reply

