Harry Potttttaaaaa!!

There is a medical definition of Hyperemesis Gravidarum which basically translates as “sick as a dog”. I was thinking about how I would describe it and this is what I came up with:

HYPEREMESIS GRAVIDARUM (HG) is the worst feeling in the world. Hyperemesis Gravidarum IS the worst feeling in the world. Hyperemesis Gravidarum is THE worst feeling in the world. Hyperemesis Gravidarum is the WORST feeling in the world. Hyperemesis Gravidarum is the worst feeling in the WORLD.

I can’t remember when I first heard the term Hyperemesis Gravidarum. I just remember seeing it appearing in my hospital notes, pregnancy record and on occasion I overheard nurses/consultants refer to me as hyperemesis girl (not quite as superheroish as it sounds!). It sounds like a term you’d hear in a Harry Potter film…”Abracadabra, Hyperemesis Gravidarum”…then POOF, in a puff of smoke you magically disappear. No such luck. It’s the pits. Yes it’s all worth it in the end but by god it’s a struggle to get there.

If anything positive was to come out of HG (other than my daughter ofcourse) it’s that I have some lovely new hilarious friends. We all met looking for the same thing…a cure and support via the Internet! Instead we found each other and lots of stories of vomit, hospital visits, tears, tantrums and eventually babies! These ladies are AMAZING. Heather, Jenni, Sarah, Nat, Jaynie, Jude, Midwifetomum (!!!), Jo (or GI Jo as i like to call her), Amanda, Panda Bear (!!!), the list goes on and on and on and on so if I’ve not mentioned you, you know who you all are 👍❤.

I also made two lovely friends in hospital, Julie and Tania. Julie suffered terribly with HG like me. One night we both took a notion for chips and gravy from the Chinese so her mum took us up portions all the way from Dingwall, bless her! Tania is practically my neighbour, small world.

However, I’m sure there are easier ways to make friends. I wouldn’t recommend having HG to bump up your numbers on Facebook 😜.

20130212-143043.jpg

Leave a Reply

